Lamborghini World Final: Agostini and Hindman win the fifth edition


After celebrating the victory of the PRO title in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America last Friday, the crew of Prestige Performance has won the fifth edition of the World Final at Imola. Riccardo Agostini and Trent Hindman have added their names after that of Dennis Lind, 2016 World Champion, to the roll of honor. In the PRO-AM category, the title was won by the other Italian Edoardo Piscopo (2014 World Champion in the PRO class) and the nineteen-year-old Englishman Taylor Proto. The two drivers also conquered the title in the North America series in the same class. In the AM, the victory went to the Germans Florian Scholze and Philipp Wlazik (Dörr Motorsport), whereas in the Lamborghini Cup the title was taken by the twice European Champion Gerard Van der Horst (Van der Horst Motorsport).

Four races, eight different winners: the result of this World Final, which took place in Imola in an extraordinary public setting, was uncertain till the end. The weekend was opened by Riccardo Agostini, who took the pole in the PRO category in Q1 and the victory with Hindman in Race 1. A fifth place in today's race was enough for the duo of Prestige Performance to become leaders. However, Race 2 was won by Raphael Abbate and Yuki Nemoto, who after scoring a win in the last round of the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe, gave an "encore". The duo of VS Racing finished second in the standings with the same amount of points as Patrick Kujala and Richard Antinucci (Bonaldi Motorsport), who finished third in Race 2 behind the poleman Rik Breukers and Axcil Jefferies (GDL Racing). The new European champions of the team Antonelli Motorsport, Mikaël Grenier and Loris Spinelli, were instead excluded from the final battle, due to a penalty received in today's race for a contact with Nicolas Costa in the early laps.

In the PRO-AM, Race 2 was won by the crew of AGS Events formed by Nicolas Gomar and Lucas Mauron and the title went to Edoardo Piscopo and Taylor Proto, who finished third behind Niels Lagrange and Pieter Vanneste (Leipert Motorsport) after winning Race 1 on Saturday. Despite slipping down to the back because of two contacts at the beginning of the race, the duo of US RaceTronics managed to win the World Final.

Thanks to the fourth place taken in Race 2, Florian Scholze and Philipp Wlazik managed to win the title in the AM class. The crew of Dörr Motorsport, which took the victory in Race 1 on Saturday, have concluded an increasingly successful season, also marked by the two wins in the European series. The Italian driver, Massimo Mantovani, was just one step away from success and eventually managed to triumph in today's race after an initial collision caused by the spin of the poleman Ryan Hardwick, three safety car periods and a final red flag. Immediately after him was the car of Autovitesse shared by Cyril Leimer and Jenny Laurent as well as Dilantha Malagamuwa (GDL Racing) to complete the podium.

After conquering his second continental title in the Lamborghini Cup last Friday, Gerard Van der Horst also triumphed in the World Final. The Dutchman managed to celebrate this success thanks to the win scored in Race 1 and today's fourth place. Race 2 was instead won by the Colombian Juan Perez (Antonelli Motorsport), despite being involved in an accident six minutes from the end of the race. Behind him finished Ryan Hardwick (Dream Racing Motorsport) and Cameron Cassels (Prestige Performance).

With the Lamborghini World Final 2017, the curtain fell on an extraordinary season, marked by the participation of over 160 drivers in the three-continental series (Europe, Asia and North America) as well as in the Middle East championship launched last February. The next edition will take place in 2018 and promises to be very exciting.

Copyright © 2018 Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A. société à actionnaire unique appartenant au Groupe Audi. Tous droits réservés. Numéro de TVA : IT 00591801204 et code fiscal 15001327